Skip to main content

Healthcare Summit


17th October 2024 Business Design Centre, London



man with headphones

07 Dec 2023

HealthInvestor Power 50 winners announced for 2023

HealthInvestor Power 50 winners announced for 2023

For nearly 15 years, HealthInvestor has been celebrating the best leaders in health and social care with the HealthInvestor Power 50.

Here are the winners of this year's Power 50 Awards, revealed on December 7th in an event at Leonardo Royal St Paul's.

Capital Provider

Winner – Steve Fergus, head of healthcare, Barclays

Derek Breingan, head of healthcare, Virgin Money

Steve Fergus, head of healthcare, Barclays

Dasos Kirtsides, head of healthcare, sustainable & project finance, Shawbrook Bank

Tony Throp, director, Puma Property Finance

Katie Wright, regional director, Natwest

Deal Maker

Winner – Julian Evans, head of healthcare, Knight Frank

Anthony Ball, partner, UK head of healthcare M&A, KPMG

Issy Corbett, head of healthcare M&A, partner, PwC

Justin Crowther, partner and UK head of healthcare, Alantra

Richard Harris, head of healthcare and senior living capital markets, Colliers

Peter Jennings, head of private healthcare, corporate finance advisory, Grant Thornton

David Jones, partner, Deloitte

Matthew Lee, managing director & co-head of healthcare, Europe, Lincoln International

Richard Lunn, managing director – healthcare, Christie & Co

Andrew Nicholson, head of healthcare, Baird

Sylvester Oppong, partner, head of healthcare and life sciences, EY

Samantha Rowland, head of healthcare and senior living, BNP Paribas

Leading Investor

Winner – Mark Gross, partner and head of development capital, Downing

Katie Beckingham, director, August Equity

Benjamin Davis, chief executive, Octopus Real Estate

Sam Gray, managing partner, Apposite Capital

Yannis Loucopoulos, chief executive, Tristone Capital

Kenneth MacKenzie, chief executive, Target Fund Managers

Martin Robb, managing director, Impact Healthcare REIT

Bruce Walker, chief executive, Aedifica UK

Outstanding Leader

Winner – Andrew Cannon, chief executive, Voyage Care

Mala Agarwal, chief executive, Athena Homes

Justin Ash, chief executive, Spire Healthcare

Pete Calveley, chief executive, Barchester

Joy Chamberlain, chief executive, Elysium Healthcare

Rebekah Cresswell, chief executive, Priory Group

Jim Easton, chief executive, Practice Plus Goup

Avnish Goyal, chair, Hallmark Care Homes

Steve Gray, chief executive, Nuffield Healthcare

Ameet Kotecha, founder and head of the family, Boutique Care Homes

Caroline Roberts, chief executive, Aria Care

Nick Sanderson, chief executive, Audley

Daya Thayan, chief executive, Kingsley Healthcare

Johann van Zyl, chief executive, Cornerstone Healthcare Group

ESG Champion

Winner – Joanne Balmer, chief executive, Oakland Care

Coralie De Maesschalck, head of CSR & ESG, Kartesia

Jonathan Freeman, group sustainability director, CareTech

Jacob Hurtley, ESG director, Elevation

Sector Specialist

Winner – Clare Connell, chief executive, Connell Consulting

Adam Carter, managing director, Carter Schwartz

Victor Chua, senior partner, Mansfield Advisors

Emma Glynn, head of healthcare advisory, JLL

Bhavna Keane-Rao, managing director, BKR Care Consultancy

James Silk, partner, CIL Management Consultants

Michelle Tempest, partner, Candesic

One to Watch

Winner – Shaleeza Hasham, commercial director, CHD Living

Will Donnelly, co-founder, Lottie

Ashish Goyal, co-founder, Principle Care Homes

Ben Hales, head of investments and group project director, Optimo Care Group

Sonia Powar, head of healthcare, BGF

Reena Virdee, director of strategy and M&A, mydentist

Tanzeel Younas, chairman, National Care Consortium

Readers’ Award

Winner – Katie Wright, regional director, Natwest




A nutritious lunch to power you through the day


Content Streams


Sign up to our newsletter to receive the latest #HCSummit24 updates